Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Can you imagine doing a recycling demonstration with 60+ students and having 90% giving you their undivided attention? Well I am happy to say that it is very possible!

On Friday, I did a paper making demonstration with 2 classes of year 2 students. They came to an empty classroom where I had the materials set up. They learned to vocab words (recycle, frame, screen, paper, glue, pulp, blender, blend, dry, etc.) and then watched as I turned old newspaper (they had brought in) into new recycled paper.

First thing, I taught them the 5 rules as I always do. I taught them how to respond when I say, “Class.” They know they need to say, “Yes” however I say, “Class.” While I was teaching, sometimes I would see a few students start chatting or look away. I would quickly say, “Class,” in a silly way and they would respond with “yes.” I now have 100% attention. Then I ask a question to the kids who were off task (surprisingly, they could usually answer correctly which means they weren’t completely distracted), and then move on and continue with the demo.

By the end of the class period, all students could identify the vocabulary words, put them in a sentence and put the paper making process into sequential order. With 60+ kids in the class I thought this lesson would be a disaster, but it goes to show that when kids are taught your expectations first thing and when you consistently enforce them, behavior problems decrease exponentially.

The scoreboard helps the kids to monitor themselves. It’s very simple, and practical. You have a smiley face and a frowny face divided by a line.
When they are following the rules, you give them marks by the smiley face and they can cheer. When they are not, you give them marks by the frowny face and they must groan. Simple and effective.

