Tags

, , , , ,

This week has gone really well despite the first day disappointment. Tuesday I had three team teaching events. The last one was a bummer (it’s a year 5 class that I’m not supposed to be working with, but they always ask for me so I go in once in a while), they had to go over their test answers and were just out of control due to BOREDOM. If it was me, I would mark the papers, send them home with the kids to correct (get a parent signature), and be done with it. But they have to do all that boring stuff in class.

Wednesday I was out in the fishing village. Here, there is one admin who is really enthusiastic and two teachers who are at the ends of their careers and can’t really be bothered. BUT I have to say, that Wednesday I had a huge surprise to be met with jovial attitudes from everyone. Maybe it is because a holiday is coming up? I was a little worried at first, when people are being really nice to you it can actually mean the opposite in indirect cultures. Well, anyway, I was really happy. I did one demo lesson, which went really well. At the end of class I had a pile of notes from the kids, all in English, with sentences like “I am a girl.” “My name is ___.” That they did during their down time (with their other teacher).

Today was another great day with the teachers at one of my Chinese schools, and for the demo lesson. Kids got involved in the “action alphabet” (per request by the teacher), and came up with their own words and actions for almost all of the letters. Then I had a lesson planning session with my other teacher at this school, and at the end of it she presented me with mooncakes! I was so happy, I love Mid-Autumn festival! It was so nice of her to think of me and give me mooncakes.

Saturday I will be giving a motivational talk to a group of year 6 students who are preparing to take their standardized exams. These exams are extremely important, and most of the teaching taking place in the schools is geared towards passing the exam. I was told that this 2 hour motivation thing should be easy going to get their mind of the pressure, so I came up with this plan:

English Motivation August 27th 8am-10am

1)      Ice breaker game 10 minutes

  1. This is a very simple game that can include the entire group.Everyone closes their eyes and lowers their heads, the leader calls out 1-2-3-Look! As the leader calls “look,” the campers look up at one specific person. Make sure you instruct them that they cannot change who they look at, because if you and the other person happen to be looking at each other then you are both out.

    When the camper looks up he/she looks at one specific person. If that person is looking back at him/her, both players are out. If that person is looking at a different person, the camper puts their head back down and waits for the next call of “1-2-3 Look.”

    Continue the game rapidly until only two players are left.

2)      Props (1 hour)

  1. Break the group up into 4 teams. Give each team a bag of props. Tell them they need to make up a story and act it out, and they have to use every prop in the bag. Tell them to be as creative as possible! Use as much English as possible! Prizes will be given for

i.      Best use of English

ii.      Most creative story

iii.      Best use of props

iv.      Best teamwork

  1. Let the teams get together and brainstorm for 30 minutes or until all teams are ready. Tell them to practice their skit (acting out the story) as much as possible so they can speak fluently.
  2. Let each group perform. At the end of all of the performances, award prizes (certificates)

3)      Freeze game (10 min)

  1. Play some music. Students can dance however they want to the music, but when the music stops they have to freeze. If they move, they are “out.”

4)      Power point (15 min)

  1. Ppt presentation, “Don’t let your schooling get in the way of your education.” –Nichole

5)      “My dreams for the future.”  (25 min)

  1. Fill in the worksheet and use the mediums available to make a piece of art describing your dream.  (markers, glue, magazines, scissors, coloured paper, etc.)
  2. Give students 20 minutes to work on their art. Use the remaining time to simulate a “gallery” and let the students walk around and talk about each other’s art.

6)      Closing statements, and dismissal

<div style=”width:425px” id=”__ss_8998621″> <strong style=”display:block;margin:12px 0 4px”><a href=”http://www.slideshare.net/nomadnichole/dont-let-your-schooling-get-in-the-way-of-your-education&#8221; title=”Don’t let your schooling get in the way of your education” target=”_blank”>Don’t let your schooling get in the way of your education</a></strong> <div style=”padding:5px 0 12px”> View more <a href=”http://www.slideshare.net/&#8221; target=”_blank”>presentations</a> from <a href=”http://www.slideshare.net/nomadnichole&#8221; target=”_blank”>nomadnichole</a> </div> </div>

*the original ppt has animations and that is why some of the slides are messed up here. The part where it is all jumbled up should be:

reading books, asking people who know, researching on the internet, trying it yourself

